Pause, Album Release

“…music of serene focus”

‘Today, we release the first track from composer Jonathan Nangle’s new album, Pause, which features luminous recordings by Crash Ensemble. The album’s title track is now available across digital platforms, and the album (released 14 July) is available to pre-order.

Pause is the debut album from a composer whose work draws on a carefully selected palette of ravishingly beautiful materials. This is music of serene focus; often fragile, always intricately woven.

The mercurial title track, Pause, was inspired by the idea of data glitches in both music and visual media. A snippet of music by early twentieth-century American composer Charles Ives is processed, rearranged and deliberately glitched, serving as as a springboard to new material.

The track Pause was commissioned by The Dock for Crash Ensemble, with funds provided by the Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon’.

Ergodos – Pause, ER 27